Nov, 2012

“Michael’s vision is truly epic and his concepts amaze me. Burn in Hades is a story that, like Rowling’s, contains layers upon layers of meaning all wrapped within an entertaining story and sandwiched between intriguing characters.” —Susan P. Sipal, Author of A Writer’s Guide to Harry Potter

Burn in Hades Cover

BURN IN HADES (The Darker Side of Light, Book 1)
by Michael L. Martin Jr.

ISBN: 9780615577098
BNID: 2940013544543
NookID: 2940013544543
KoboID: 1230000028729
Format: ebook (mobi, epub)


Note: This novel is currently only available as an ebook. However, don’t forget that you can read ebooks on any computer, tablet, or laptop, and on most phones, with free software like: Kindle Reading Apps | Nook Reading Apps | Kobo Reading Apps.

United States
Barnes & Noble
Kobo Books

Amazon CA

United Kingdom | Guernsey | Isle of Man | Jersey
Amazon UK
Nook Books UK

Note: BURN IN HADES has not been translated into other languages. At this time the eBook is English only, but is still available to purchase outside of the US from these stores:

Austria | Liechtenstein | Switzerland | Germany | Luxembourg
Amazon DE

France | Monaco | Switzerland | Belgium | Luxembourg
Amazon FR

Italy | San Marino | Vatican City | Switzerland
Amazon IT

Spain | Andorra
Amazon ES

Amazon BR

Amazon JP

Note: If your store is not listed here, you may search the book title or author name directly at your favorite store or you may use the above IDs (ISBN, ASIN, BNID, etc.) in your search as well.

Cross never forgives because he never forgets.

Haunted by the Hell of his past transgressions, he sets out on an epic journey across the underworld to paradise—not to frolic in the gardens with the righteous, but to drink from the river Lethe which causes complete forgetfulness.

Map of the Underworld

Download this free map of the Underworld

He’s a rare soul who remembers his life before death, known throughout the underworld as “The Man Who Remembers”. There’s a bounty on his memories, and envious spirits hunt his head to steal them.

Erasing his mind will get the spirits off his neck and allow him to keep his crown on its throne, but he will have to continue his afterlife in an ignorant bliss. Even more unfortunate for him, paradise is guarded by a great wall that annihilates any soul that gets too close. No member of the damned has ever broken in.

Burn in Hades is an action packed and fast-paced fantasy by Michael L. Martin Jr. It is the first book in The Darker Side of Light saga.

About The Darker Side of Light Saga

Martin has built a world so rich and complex, fans are eagerly picking apart every word and hunting for clues! Burn in Hades bridges mythology from over fourteen different cultures with Martin’s original concepts and will engage both loyal and casual fantasy readers.

Taking inspiration from Sergio Leone’s epic spaghetti western, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, Martin weaves a sweeping tale of battles, betrayals, and unlikely bonds. The plot revolves around three main characters: a human soul who goes by the name Cross; a fallen angel called The Raven, who follows her own law; and a demon named Diamond Tooth, who’s simply terrifying.

Choose between two methods:

A) Download the free ebook excerpt of BURN IN HADES to your ereader:

B) Read the first seven chapters of BURN IN HADES right on this website. →





“There is so much creativeness flowing through this book it is truly a fantasy book for the everyone. And lots and lots of magic. I will definitely be looking forward to the next book.”
From Amazon's US Store

“It is epic, complex and even bizarre in a way.”
From Amazon's US Store

“Everything from the artwork to the story is simply flawless … You’ll have a hard time putting it down and you’ll have an even harder time waiting for the second book in the series.”
From Amazon's UK Store

“This is probably the best book I have read in quite some time and I am really looking forward to the rest of the series.”
From Amazon's UK Store

“Awesome story. Really enjoyed it!”
From Barnes & Noble

“Entertaining and very original. Hope to read more.”
From Barnes & Noble